comment 0

Review: Pigeon bottles

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 5/5

I have to say, I really like Pigeon bottles. I got a few from my sisters and eventually bought some new ones of my own. 

On this note, I want to point out that there is a lifespan for bottles. I wish someone had told me earlier. If your plastic bottle has lots of scratches and has turned cloudy or yellow-y from use, or if the nipple has turned yellowish or is torn, then it’s time to get a new bottle.

Pigeon had a trade in 1 bottle, get a new Pigeon bottle at 50% off, so I jumped on the deal and got 3 bottles from Babyland SS2: two 160-ml capacity ones and one 240-ml one (as you can see in the photo. Ignore the steam by the way, I’d just sterilized them). I got them all in the PPSU range (the honey coloured ones), because it says it withstands temperatures of up to 180 degrees Celcius, which is great for sterilization.

The bottles come with an XS teat, so I bought M teats separately. I’m using two types: one ‘normal’ Pigeon teat, which is the usual transparent colour, and the other is their Peristaltic Plus nipple that is opaque. 

I personally prefer the Peristaltic Plus nipple because it’s got a nicer texture? It’s also easier to see where the air release hole is when you’re feeding. The usual nipple’s air release hole is so so hard to see. But my 6 month old seems to be fine with drinking from both. 

I used to use a combination of Pigeon and Dr Brown bottles (for the pure reason that I got gifted brand new Dr Brown bottles YAY), and this arrangement was fine in the first 4 months. But when we changed the teat to a Level 2, we just had serious leaking problems, both when we were feeding her and when travelling. Basically, the bottles have to stay absolutely upright, or you have to put on a travel cap. I’ve never had this issue with Pigeon bottles, so I decided to go ahead and settle just with Pigeon.

Leave a Reply

