comment 0

Cranberry-orange scones recipe

Breakfasts can easily get monotonous, even with an assortment of cereals and breads. So, I’ve added scones to my breakfast toolbelt! 

I found a great scones recipe on allrecipes.com, which is one of my go-to places for recipes because there are just so many homebakers on there testing out the recipes and giving reviews. A 5-star rated recipe on the site is a sure-win. Just click on the link for the recipe, because I didn’t make any significant alterations to justify typing it all out again.

I went ahead with the cranberry-orange version (by adding cranberries instead of raisins, and a teaspoon of grated orange rind), and they turned out great.

The recipe suggests to roll the dough out into a circle and to cut it into triangles (like a pizza), but I like the idea of round scones, so I took small handfuls of dough, rolled them into balls and flattened them on a baking tray instead. They turned out real nice, and the bit of sugar on top made them look just that little bit more special.

The only thing I’d caution about this recipe is that it’s for a more cakey scone texture. If you don’t like your scones slightly fluffy, this recipe is NOT for you. 

Keith happens to like this texture, so I’m keeping to this. Try them with some Bonne Maman jam. SO GOOD. 

Leave a Reply

