comment 0

Simple and quick lunch: Eggplant and French bean salad recipe

We’re on a 40-day fast with church until mid-September along with NECF’s 40 days of prayer and fasting. Last year, I fasted a meal a day (lunch), but with bubba in the oven this year, I decided to still maintain my meals but go without meat during lunch instead.

My aim is to go primarily on fruit and vegetables, so I’m still getting the nutrients I need and I can still participate in this super important time for our nation! Malaysia needs so much prayer right now,

Today, I worked until I forgot to eat. Yes, it often happens and I know it’s bad. So at 2pm, I realised I had to eat something, and this is what I pulled together. It was really delicious!

Ingredients:

(Serves 1)

  • 1 small eggplant (long or round, no matter), sliced
  • 1 small bunch of french beans, cut into short stalks (or you can leave them long- just easier to fish out of the pot this way!)
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 4 cherry tomatoes, sliced into quarters
  • 7 leaves of fresh basil
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius (fan).
  2. On a small oven tray lined with a baking sheet, lay out the slices of eggplant. Sprinkle oregano, salt and pepper. Add enough olive oil so each eggplant slice gets some. Toss and mix well, and spread slices out again. Bake in oven for 15 mins or until the slices are grilled through (they will crinkle and soften).
  3. Fill a small pot with water and put it on high heat. Add some salt to the water.
  4. Add the french beans into the water and blanche for 1 minute (or shorter if you like them crisper). Take them out with a slotted spoon into a bowl.
  5. Into your serving bowl, fish out the french beans with a slotted spoon.
  6. Add in the eggplant (when done), cherry tomatoes and fresh basil.
  7. Add 1 tbsp olive oil to the mixture and the balsamic vinegar. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.
  8. Toss and eat!

Yum, it was really good. This is a great recipe to make for dinner parties too. So fuss free, and eggplants and french beans are not too expensive in Malaysia.

If I wasn’t pregnant, I’d add feta to this, and if I was feeling indulgent, some toasted pine nuts would go in too.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

